There’s a Kitty Under the Christmas Tree

There’s A Kitty Under the Christmas Tree

For this Christmas season, Tom Grant is offering his fourth ever holiday album, his 25th all time CD.  This one is titled “There’s A Kitty Under the Christmas Tree.”  And for those who have ever owned a cat, the title track celebrates the rollicking mischief of our feline friends during the holiday season, as depicted in the sweet cover painting by Portland artist Mary Suzanne Garvey.

Tom has included 5 tracks lifted from previous albums but with some editing and changes.  The remaining eight tracks are newly minted seasonal favorites like the very tender rendering of Irving Berlin’s “White Christmas” and the almost Baroque, contrapuntal four-hands piano-only version of “We Wish You a Merry Christmas.”

There are three tracks featuring the buttery-voiced Rebecca Kilgore, including the somewhat obscure but beautiful Burt Bacharach tune, Winter Warm.  Tom has also reprised his sardonic take on Leroy Anderson’s “Sleigh Ride” with its Mr. Ed-style vocals and subsequent mayhem in Tom’s nod to one of his earliest musical influences, Spike Jones.

The stylistic flavors here are wide-ranging.  There’s a very jazzy version of “Winter Wonderland” followed by a very cowboy version of “Blue Christmas.”  Here are 13 songs that celebrate the full range of the holiday atmosphere.

All in all, it’s a fun seasonal record, one that even your Kitty will enjoy.


Track Listing:

1. Christmas Dreaming
2. Winter Wonderland
3. Blue Christmas
4. We Wish You a Merry Christmas
5.  Baby It’s Cold Outside
6.  Angels We Have Heard On High
7.  Sleigh Ride
8.  I’ll Be Home for Christmas
9.  Let It Snow
10. My Favorite Things
11. Winter Warm
12. White Christmas
13. There’s a Kitty Under the Christmas Tree